Petoskey boys, Elk Rapids-TCSF girls capture D2 ski state titles

BELLAIRE – Paced by wins at the giant slalom and slalom, the Petoskey boys ski program captured an MHSAA Division 2 state championship on Monday for the sixth consecutive year.

Competing at Schuss Mountain at Bellaire’s Shanty Creek, the Northmen won the event with 44 points, besting Elk Rapids-Traverse City St. Francis (87), Cadillac (129), East Grand Rapids (165) and Charlevoix (165.5).

Petoskey’s Mitch Makala claimed the giant slalom and finished second in the slalom to teammate Garret Lundteigen.

On the girls side, the Elk Rapids-Traverse City St. Francis co-op won its first state championship since claiming the Class B-C-D title in 2005, edging Houghton by two points.

Harbor Springs finished third with 88 points, followed by Pontiac Notre Dame Prep (181) and Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central (187).

BOYS GIANT SLALOM: 1. Mitch Makala (Petoskey), 2. Ben Hicks (ER/TCSF), 3. Garret Lundteigen (Petoskey), 4. Christian Stellin (ER/TCSF), 7. Alex Netzley (Cadillac), 9. Daviv Paquette (Petoskey), 10. Gavin Mortenson (ER/TCSF).

BOYS SLALOM: 1. Garret Lundteigen (Petoskey), 2. Mitch Makala (Petoskey), 4. Christian Stellin (ER/TCSF), 5. Finn Husband (ER/TCSF), 6. Alex Netzley (Cadillac), 8. Silas Lee (Petoskey), 9. Tristan Akins (Petoskey), 10. Bowen Stoops (Benzie Central).

GIRLS GIANT SLALOM: 3. Carlee McCardel (ER/TCSF), 5. Maddy Fuhrman (Harbor Springs), 6. Demi Trabucchi (Harbor Springs), 8. Morgan Papineau (Benzie Central).

GIRLS SLALOM: 2. Carlee McCardel (ER/TCSF), 4. Kendra Wells (ER/TCSF), 5. Morgan Papineau (Benzie Central), 7. Kelly Leavy (Petoskey), 8. Morgan Papineau (Benzie Central).

Categories: Skiing