Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart’s Gamble Leads AP Class D All-State Team

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. (AP) — Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy’s Averi Gamble has been named the girls Class D Player of the Year on The Associated Press All-State team.

The 6-foot-3 senior center is a four-year varsity contributor. She put herself on the map as one of the best players in Class D when she scored 25 points to help the Irish to a state championship in 2014.

Joining Gamble on the All-State first team are Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes’ Alex Troy, Adrian Lenawee Christian’s Kiara Nieto, Pittsford’s Maddie Clark, Pittsford’s Jaycie Burger, Frankfort’s Mackenna Kelly, Mackinaw City’s Chelsey Closs, Posen’s Jenna Hincka, Fruitport Calvary Christian’s Allyson Richards, Martin’s Jazmin Hildebrand and Newberry’s Taylor Bryant.

Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart coach Damon Brown is the Class D Coach of the Year.

Player of the Year

Averi Gamble, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy, Sr.

First-Team All-State

Chelsey Closs, Mackinaw City, Sr.

Taylor Bryant, Newberry, Jr.

Jenna Hincka, Posen, Sr.

Alex Troy, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes, Sr.

Averi Gamble, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy, Sr.

Kiara Nieto, Adrian Lenawee Christian, Jr.

Maddie Clark, Pittsford, Jr.

Jaycie Burger, Pittsford, Jr.

Mackenna Kelly, Frankfort, Sr.

Allyson Richards, Fruitport Calvary Christian, Jr.

Jazmin Hildebrand, Martin, Jr.


Damon Brown, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy

Second-Team All-State (Nominees receiving two or more votes from the 10-member panel)

Libby Munoz, Leland, Sr.

Alex Hunter, Gaylord St. Mary’s, Sr.

Cecelia Schmitt, Frankfort, Jr.

Honorable Mention

(Nominees receiving one or no votes from the 10-member panel)

Tiffany Senerius, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes, So.; Leslie Asman, Mio, Sr.; Bailey Whitcomb, Bellevue, So.; Shannon Bates, Bay City All Saints, Jr.; Connor Proctor, Fulton-Middleton, Sr.; Grace Haley, Lansing Christian, Jr.; Averi Munro, Morrice, Sr.; Taylor Macomber, Climax-Scotts, Sr.; Emily Witkowski, St. Joseph Michigan Lutheran, Jr.; Megan Zinsmaster, Mendon, Sr.; Brandy O’Neal, Bellaire, Sr.; Miranda Carlson, Big Rapids Crossroads, Sr.; Bekah Myler, Gaylord St. Mary’s, Sr.; Vanessa Schook, Hillman, Sr.; Jade Galer, Onaway, Sr.; Maria Stankewicz, Crystal Falls Forest Park, Sr.; Allissa Willa, Bark River-Harris, Jr.; Bridget Stoetzer, Newberry, Sr.; Sarah Savage, Kingston, Sr.


Chris Hodos, Pittsford

Voting panel: David Bossick, Ludington Daily News; Bill Broderick, Battle Creek Enquirer; Brian Calloway, Lansing State Journal; Matt Sheehan, Times Herald (Port Huron); David Goricki, The Detroit News; Fred Kelly, Midland Daily News; Matthew B. Mowery, The Oakland Press (Pontiac); Matt Wenzel, MLive-Jackson; Nich Wolak, Grand Haven Tribune; Eric Woodyard, MLive-Flint.