Seven Northern Michigan Athletes Named to AP Class D Team

The 2017 Associated Press Class D girls basketball All-State team as selected by a panel of nine Michigan sportswriters.

Player of the Year

Maddie Clark, Pittsford, Sr.

First-Team All-State

Maddie Clark, Pittsford, Sr.

Jaycie Burger, Pittsford, Sr.

Allyson Richards, Fruitport Calvary Christian, Sr.

Kayla Sanders, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes, Jr.

Scout Nelson, Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy, So.

Sophie Ruggles, Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy, Jr.

Grace Haley, Lansing Christian, Sr.

Cecelia Schmitt, Frankfort, Sr.

Alex Hunter, Gaylord St. Mary, Jr.

Shannon Bates, Bay City All Saints, Sr.

Emily Witkowski, St. Joseph Michigan Lutheran, Sr.

Coach of the Year

Chris Hodos, Pittsford.

Second-Team All-State

(Nominees receiving two or more votes from the nine-member panel)

Elasia Craig, Wyoming Tri-unity Christian, Sr.

Tiffany Senerius, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes, Jr.

Emma Johnson, Harbor Light Christian, Jr.

Vanessa Shook, Hillman, Sr.

Daelynn Jackson, Lawrence, Sr.

Honorable Mention

(Nominees receiving one or no votes from the nine-member panel)

Emma Jo Wedeven, Holland Calvary; Carissa Read, Wyoming Tri-unity Christian; Lauren Turner, Sterling Heights Parkway Christian; Daelyn Merillat, Morenci; Taylor Hewitt, Morrice; Lexi Niepoth, Bellaire; Bailey Whitcomb, Bellevue; Kaytlyn Tidey, Lawrence.


Dan Smith, Gaylord St. Mary

Voting panel: David Bossick, Ludington Daily News; Bill Broderick, Battle Creek Enquirer; Brian Calloway, Lansing State Journal; David Goricki, The Detroit News; Matthew B. Mowery, The Oakland Press (Pontiac); Eric Woodyard, MLive-Flint; Tony Garcia, MLive-Jackson; Nate Schneider, Morning Sun (Mount Pleasant), Steve Kaminski, MLive-Grand Rapids.

Categories: Girls Basketball