Eighteen Area Athletes Named MHSAA Scholar-Athlete Award Finalists

The MHSAA has announced 120 finalists for the 2017-18 Scholar-Athlete Awards, with 18 northern Michigan student-athletes named.
Presented by Farm Bureau Insurance, 32 individuals from Class A-D schools will be awarded a $1,000 scholarship.
Scholarships will be awarded to 12 student-athletes from Class A, eight from Class B, six from Class C and four from Class D.
To be eligible for the scholarship, student-athletes must have a grade point average of 3.50 and have previously won a varsity letter in at least one sport that has an MHSAA sponsored postseason tournament. Scholarship recipients will be announced in February, with winners being recognized during halftime of the Class C boys basketball final on March 24.
Boys Class A
David Paquette, Petoskey
Boys Class B
Jackson Lund, Big Rapids
Caleb Schoon, Ludington
Girls Class B
Mackenzie Luce, Ludington
Valeta A. Gage, Sault Ste. Marie
Mackenzie M. Kalchik, Sault Ste. Marie
Boys Class C
Parker Hayes, Beaverton
Joseph R. Claramunt, Harbor Springs
Thomas Kelbel, Harbor Springs
Girls Class C
Shelby Trevino, Beal City
Rachel Nesburg, Charlevoix
Boys Class D
Brendan Delaney, Gaylord St. Mary
Andrew Hager, Mio
Jeremiah Torrey, Onekama
Thomas Hursey, Suttons Bay
Girls Class D
Madison Kadlec, Bellaire
Ellie Haan, McBain Northern Michigan Christian
Sophie Ruggles, Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart