Ferris State’s Hankins, Cushingberry Named to Bevo Francis Award Watch List

Ferris State’s Zach Hankins and Drew Cushingberry (pictured) have the Bulldogs off to an 18-1 start. 

BIG RAPIDS – Ferris State junior center and Charlevoix native Zach Hankins and senior guard Drew Cushingberry have been named to the 2018 Bevo Francis Award Watch List, the school announced Monday.

Hankins and Cushingberry are joined by Lake Superior State senior guard Akaemji Williams.

Averaging 13.5 points per game, Hankins and Cushingberry have the Bulldogs off to an 18-1 start and are two of 100 players across NCAA Division II and II, NAIA Division I and II, USCAA and NCCAA levels to be named to the watch list. Williams is averaging 19.6 points per game and has the Lakers (14-3) tied atop the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference North division standings with Ferris State.

Presented by Small College Basketball, the award is named after the former University of Rio Grande (Ohio) standout Clarence “Bevo” Francis and is given to the player who had the finest overall season within small college basketball.

Small College Basketball will narrow its watch list to 50 players on Feb. 15 for the third-year award, and then trim the list to the top 25 players on March 15. The winner will then be announced on April 2.

Ferris State is back in action Thursday at Purdue Northwest while Lake Superior State travels to Grand Valley State.