Four Area Schools Named Battle of the Fans Semifinalists

Four area schools have been selected as semifinalists for the MHSAA’s “Battle of the Fans VII,” the organization announced Tuesday.

Traverse City West, the 2016 champion, is joined by Petoskey, Pellston and Boyne City as four of the nine semifinalists. Cedar Springs, Buchanan, Charlotte, Munising and Negaunee round out the list of semifinalists.

Run by the MHSAA and its 16-member Student Advisory Council, schools were invited to apply by submitting short videos, via YouTube, of their cheering sections, with nine semifinalists then selected.

Semifinalists must complete 10 challenges via their social media channels by 11 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 27. The 10 challenges must focus on positive sportsmanship, student body participation, school spirit, originality of cheers, organization of the group, student section leadership and overall fun.

Three finalists will then be selected on Monday, Jan. 29. The Student Advisory Council and MHSAA staff will visit all three finalists at home basketball games during the second half of the regular season.

This year’s winner will be announced on Friday, Feb. 23 and will be honored at the Breslin Center during the high school boys basketball state finals on Friday, March 23.

This is the fifth year that Traverse City West has applied for the competition and the fourth for Petoskey. Boyne City has applied twice, while Pellston, with an enrollment of 167 students, is the smallest participant. In all, 19 schools applied for this year’s contest.

Categories: Boys Basketball, Girls Basketball