Throwback Thursday: Mt. Pleasant Wins 1st Title since 1996

MISportsNow’s Throwback Thursday is looking back at northern Michigan’s greatest games, from buzzer beaters to state finals. This marks the eighth in the biweekly series.

BATTLE CREEK – A three-RBI performance from Tyler Gross propelled Mt. Pleasant to a 7-4 win over Orchard Lake St. Mary’s in the 2007 MHSAA Division 2 state final at Battle Creek’s C.O. Brown Stadium.

The win was Mt. Pleasant’s second state championship and first since winning the 1996 Class A title. Prior to 1996, the Oilers finished runner-up to Flint Powers in the 1980 Class B final.

Mt. Pleasant, which finished 2007 with a 39-1 record, pushed a pair of runs across the plate in the first and second innings and took a 7-1 lead after three innings.

Andrew Thomas and Donny Lee combined to go 4-for-8 in the game with three runs as seven Oilers tallied at least one hit.

Tyler Mills allowed four earned runs on eight hits while striking out nine and walking five in a complete-game effort in the win. He also helped his cause at the plate with a trio of hits and an RBI.

The Eaglets committed four errors and were outhit 13-8.

Mt. Pleasant would make it back to Battle Creek to defend its title in 2008 but fell to Dearborn Divine Child, 14-3. The Oilers would go on to capture the 2014 Division 2 championship with a 7-2 win over Richmond. Mt. Pleasant and St. Mary’s met again in 2015 Division 2 title game, with the Eaglets winning 4-1.

Categories: Baseball