MHSAA Announces Classification Changes for 2019-20

The Michigan High School Athletic Association has announced school classification changes for the 2019-20 school year.

Classification changes are based on second-semester enrollment from the 2018-19 school year.

For the 2019-20 calendar, schools with an enrollment of 863 or more students are in Class A while schools with an enrollment of 395-862 are in Class B. Class C schools are those with an enrollment of 189-394.

Traditional classes are only used for the football postseason and MHSAA elections.

Moving up from Class B to Class A
Battle Creek Harper Creek
Dearborn Divine Child
Parma Western
Stevensville Lakeshore
Moving down from Class A to Class B
Grand Rapids Christian
Ortonville Brandon
Redford Union
Moving up from Class C to Class B
Adrian Madison
Dearborn Advanced Technology Academy
Flint Hamady
Moving down from Class B to Class C
Detroit West Side Academy
Moving up from Class D to Class C
Adrian Lenawee Christian
Benton Harbor Countryside Academy
Lutheran Westland
Saginaw Michigan Lutheran Seminary
Moving down from Class C to Class D
Big Rapids Crossroads Academy
Britton Deerfield
Eau Claire

New Postseason Eligible Tournament Schools in 2019-20
Southfield Manoogian
Flint New Standard
Midland Calvary Baptist Academy
Starr Albion Prep
Whitmore Lake Livingston Classical

Enrollment Breaks by Classes – 2019-20
(Number of schools in parentheses)
Class A: 863 and above (187 schools)
Class B: 395 – 862 (187)
Class C: 189 – 394 (187)
Class D: 188 and below (187)