Ferris State, Lake Superior State Exploring New Hockey Conference for 2021-22 Season

Ferris State and Lake Superior State are among seven NCAA Division I college hockey programs that announced on Friday the exploration of a new Division I men’s hockey conference for the 2021-22 season.

Ferris State and LSSU are joined by fellow Western Collegiate Hockey Association member institutions Bemidji State, Bowling Green,  Michigan Tech, Minnesota State and Northern Michigan in the exploration of establishing a new conference.

The institutions noted in a release that, “The group would plan to establish itself as an elite hockey conference that would have the highest standards for overall competitiveness and rigorous non-conference scheduling, along with a level of institutional investment that demonstrates significant commitment to their hockey programs and facilities, while also establishing relationships with corporate partners and others that create a high degree of visibility and positive media exposure for the league.”

All seven institutions have submitted formal letters of withdrawal from the WCHA. All will continue to play in the WCHA for the 2019-20 and 2020-21 seasons.

LSSU drops the puck on its 2019-20 season at home against Merrimack on Saturday, Oct. 5, while Ferris State opens its slate at home against Colgate on Thursday, Oct. 10.



Categories: Hockey