Defending Champions Set Fast Time at AuSable River Canoe Marathon

GRAYLING – The second day of time trials for the 72nd AuSable River Canoe Marathon took place Thursday and there was a familiar duo atop the standings.

Ten-time winners and defending champions Steve LaJoie and Andrew Triebold took over the top spot with a run of 4:49.52. The team of Graham Smith and Matt Meersman sit in second after a sprint time of 4:59.36.

LaJoie and Triebold won their first AuSable River Canoe Marathon together in 2004 and won eight straight races from 2008 to 2015.

“We are expecting the same, do as good as we can, and hopefully that’s a win,” LaJoie said. “We’ll just try our best for sure.”

“The expectation’s to run a race like we always have which we always seem to go really well and you just hope that it keeps going that way,” added Triebold.

The race starts at 9 p.m. Saturday at the Old AuSable Fly Shop.