Sacred Heart’s Armah, Pickford’s Storey Named MHSAA Scholar Athlete

The Michigan High School Athletic Association has named two area student-athletes as recipients of its 2019-20 Scholar-Athlete Award program.

Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart’s Lesley Armah and Pickford’s Jimmy Storey are two of 10 student-athletes from Class C and D schools to receive the honor.

Presented by Farm Bureau Insurance, 32 individuals from Class A-D schools will be awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

Scholarships are awarded to 12 student-athletes from Class A, eight from Class B, six from Class C and four from Class D.

Armah is a four-year member of Sacred Heart’s cross country and track and field teams. She participates in Model United Nations, National Honor Society and Science Olympiad and is an AP Scholar.

Armah is still finalizing college plans but is planning to study biology.

A four-year member of Pickford’s football, basketball and baseball programs as well as a three-year member of the track and field team, Storey led the Panthers to their first state championship with the 2019 MHSAA 8-Player Division 2 title. He has earned all-state honors in football and all-conference honors in basketball and baseball and currently carries a 3.99 GPA.

Storey has served as the school and class president and is a member of NHS. While he is still finalizing his college plans, he intends to study pre-med and later focus on dermatology.

Other Class C finalists for the Scholar-Athlete Award were: Anna Laurenz, Breckenridge; Makayla Fletcher, Clinton; Lauren Schnicke, Kent City; Grace Tylutki, Monroe St. Mary Catholic Central; Isabella Santiago-Lindsay, North Muskegon; Ellie DuVall, Ottawa Lake Whiteford; Ellary Pachulski, Saranac; Allyson Kemp, Unionville-Sebewaing; and Olivia Bowman, White Cloud; Gabriel Seir, Ann Arbor Greenhills; Jared Gottschalk, Beal City; Kendall Anthes, Cass City; Sandyn Cuthrell, Cass City; Drew Markel, Cass City; Giovanni Basanese, Iron Mountain; Jack Pedlar, Lake City; Riley McKenna, Lakeview; John Hayhurst, North Muskegon.

Other Class D finalists for the Scholar-Athlete Award were: Teegan Dawson, Bellaire; Josie Koenigsknecht, Fowler; Colleen McCarthy, Onekama; Emma Engler, Peck; Kaitlyn Bricker, Pellston; and Isabel Mossel, Plymouth Christian Academy; Tony Piggott, Fowler; Ramy Abueita, Genesee; Alex Sutten, Marion; Adam Paga, Petoskey St. Michael Academy; Bryce Opie, Suttons Bay; and Matthew Schmidt, Three Oaks River Valley.

To be eligible for the scholarship, student-athletes must have a grade point average of 3.50 and have previously won a varsity letter in at least one sport that has an MHSAA sponsored postseason tournament. Scholarship recipients will be announced in February, with winners being recognized during halftime of the Division 3 boys basketball final on March 28.

Categories: Boys Basketball, Cross Country, Football, Track & Field