Traverse City Central’s Elizabeth Saunders Named MHSAA Scholar Athlete

The Michigan High School Athletic Association has named Traverse City Central senior Elizabeth Saunders as a recipient of its 2019-20 Scholar-Athlete Award program.

Presented by Farm Bureau Insurance, 32 individuals from Class A-D schools will be awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

Scholarships are awarded to 12 student-athletes from Class A, eight from Class B, six from Class C and four from Class D.

Saunders is a four-year member of Central’s Alpine ski program and three-year varsity rower. An all-state honoree in skiing and winner of the USRowing National Regatta inclusive doubles championship, Saunders won the national Congressional App Challenge and Northwestern Michigan Engineering Fair for her development of the CalcuSaver app. She is a member of the school’s Key Club and president of its SciMaat Tech accelerated STEM program.

Saunders will attend Stanford University and plans to study computer science and business.

Other Class A finalists for the Scholar-Athlete Award were: Alexandra Montgomery, Ann Arbor Huron; Lydia Valtadoros, Ann Arbor Pioneer; Lara Janosz, Bloomfield Hills; Madelyn Crandell, Byron Center; Brenna Bailey, Haslett; Kaitlyn Stid, Holland; Mónica Ruiz, Holly; Eliza Alushi, Livonia Stevenson; Sasha Konovalenko, Midland Dow; Maddie Sermak, Okemos; Anusha Tekumulla, Port Huron Northern; Jayne Flynn, Richland Gull Lake; Grace Foster, Richland Gull Lake; Raegan McNamara, Rochester Hills Stoney Creek; Rachel Gamm, Rockford; Erin Middleton, St. Johns; Shaelie McClain, Troy Athens; Lauren Tarnowsky, Waterford Mott;Vaughn Hajra, Ann Arbor Pioneer; Owen Rennich, Ann Arbor Pioneer; Skyler Sebring, Battle Creek Lakeview; Vikram Strander, Battle Creek Lakeview; Jack Spamer, Brighton; Nate Sesti, Clarkston; Caleb White, Detroit Catholic Central; Luke Sayler, Dexter; George Graham, Grosse Pointe North; Nathaniel Holcomb, Haslett; Jonah Gilmore, Holland; Shadrach Cunningham, Lansing Waverly; Sean Anderson, Midland Dow; Saketh Kamaraju, Midland Dow; Ben Boss, Saginaw Heritage; Peter Apostol, St. Johns; Davis DiGiovanni, Troy Athens; and Ethan Price, Warren Cousino.

To be eligible for the scholarship, student-athletes must have a grade point average of 3.50 and have previously won a varsity letter in at least one sport that has an MHSAA sponsored postseason tournament. Scholarship recipients will be announced in February, with winners being recognized during halftime of the Division 3 boys basketball final on March 28.

Categories: Skiing