Jeff Blashill, Chris Kunitz Headline 2020 Ferris State Athletics Hall of Fame Class

Detroit Red Wings head coach and Ferris State alum Jeff Blashill headlines a list of seven former student-athletes set to be inducted into Ferris State University Bulldog Athletics Hall of Fame this fall.

The 2020 induction class is the hall of fame’s 13th and includes: Jeff Blashill (hockey, 1994-98), Lucy (DeMartin) Prior (women’s basketball, 2000-04), Dannie Hayes (men’s basketball, 1991-95), Tianna Kirkland (women’s basketball/track and field, 1997-01), Chris Kunitz (hockey, 1999-03), Brad Morris (wrestling, 1985-89) and Gideon Smith (football, 1910-11).

In addition to the seven-member class, two-time Harlon Hill Trophy winner Jason Vander Laan was selected to be inducted after the mandatory 10-year waiting period was waved. A member of the New Orleans Saints, Vander Laan has elected to be inducted at a later year.

“It is with great pride that we announce and congratulate this year’s distinguished class of Bulldog Athletics Hall of Fame inductees,” said FSU Athletics Director Perk Weisenburger in a statement. “This class of individuals represents a group of the finest student-athletes in school history and their storied athletic and professional accomplishments have brought great recognition to our department and university.

“We look forward to welcoming them back to a safe, healthy and vibrant campus this fall, or whenever that can be, for the induction ceremony and to safely celebrate all their achievements and success with families, friends, former teammates and supporters. We are pleased to announce this wonderful class of Bulldog Hall of Famers, but at the same time we fully appreciate the impact that the health pandemic is having on everyone and we will have that at the forefront of our decision making.”

The induction ceremony and banquet is currently scheduled for Friday, Oct. 16 at Ferris State University Center Ballroom. The event is subject to change based on the impact of the coronavirus pandemic.