MHSAA Announces Classification Changes for 2020-21

The Michigan High School Athletic Association has announced school classification changes for the 2020-21 school year.

Classification changes are based on second-semester enrollment from the 2019-20 school year.

For the 2020-21 calendar year, schools with an enrollment of 831 or more students are in Class A while schools with an enrollment of 392-830 are in Class B. Class C schools are those with an enrollment of 182-391 while Class D schools are enrollments of 181 or fewer.

Traditional classes are only used for MHSAA elections.

Moving Up from Class B to Class A
Harper Woods
Moving Down from Class A to Class B
Battle Creek Harper Creek
Moving Up from Class C to Class B
Canton Prep
Dearborn Riverside Academy West
Detroit Pershing
Detroit Edison
Moving Down from Class B to Class C
Adrian Madison
Detroit Jalen Rose Leadership Academy
Grand Rapids Wellspring Prep
Otisville-LakeVille Memorial
Moving Up from Class D to Class C
Birmingham Roeper
Detroit Academy of the Americas
Detroit Southeastern
Detroit The School at Marygrove
Eau Claire
New Buffalo
Painesdale Jeffers
Moving up from Class D to Class B
Detroit Cornerstone Lincoln King Academy
Moving Down from Class C to Class D
Benton Harbor Countryside Academy
Detroit Douglass
Detroit Public Safety Academy
Inland Lakes
New Postseason Eligible Tournament Schools in 2020-21
Bay City Academy
Boyne City Concord Academy
Detroit Cornerstone Lincoln King Academy
Lansing Martin Luther
Detroit Collegiate
Redford Westfield Prep
Enrollment Breaks by Classes in 2020-21
(Number of schools in parentheses)
Class A: 831 and above (188 schools)
Class B: 392 – 830 (188)
Class C: 182 – 391 (188)
Class D: 181 and below (188)