Cheboygan’s PJ Maybank III Named Mr. Golf

Cheboygan sophomore and 2021 MHSAA Division 3 individual state champion PJ Maybank III has been named the Michigan Interscholastic Golf Coaches Association’s 2021 Mr. Golf.

Maybank bested Grosse Ile’s Anthony Naso by 10 strokes to win his first state championship back on June 12 at The Meadows at Grand Valley State.

Below is a listing of area athletes that earned MIGCA all-state honors.

Super Team
PJ Maybank III, So., Cheboygan
Division 1 All-State
Murphy Kehoe, Sr., Traverse City West
Division 2 Honorable Mention
Harry Chipman, Jr., Cadillac
Division 3 All-State
Josh Lavely, Sr., Elk Rapids
Luke Welch, Jr., Big Rapids
Division 3 Honorable Mention
Zach Bendele, Sr., Shepherd
Griffon Mawson, Fr., Traverse City St. Francis
Division 4 All-State
Jake Beaudoin, Sr., Charlevoix
Sam Pletcher, So., Charlevoix
Michael Zanoni, Sr., Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart
Division 4 Honorable Mention
Andrew Kolenda, So., Pentwater
Hudson Vollmer, Fr., Charlevoix

Categories: Boys Golf