Michigan Defeats Ohio to Win Little League World Series Championship

SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. – Michigan and Ohio faced off in the 74th Little League World Series final, with the team from Taylor, Michigan being crowned champions after a 5-2 victory at Lamade Stadium on Sunday.

This is Michigan’s first Little League World Series championship since 1959 and second all-time.

Taylor North Little League finished 5-1 in the World Series and won 15 of its final 16 games this season.

Michigan and Ohio first met in the Great Lakes Regional final in Whitestown, Ind., on Aug. 14 before playing each other in the first championship featuring teams from the same regional.

Michigan defeated Ohio 9-1 in the regional final.

This was Ohio’s first ever appearance in a world series final.

Categories: Baseball