CMU’s Lew Nichols, Kalil Pimpleton Earn MAC Player of Year Honors

MT. PLEASANT – Central Michigan running back Lew Nichols has been named the MAC Offensive Player of the Year, and wide receiver/punt returner Kalil Pimpleton has been named the MAC Special Teams Player of the Year.

Nichols, who won the MAC Freshman of the Year award last season, had a breakout campaign in 2021. Nichols not only led the MAC in rushing yards, he also led the nation this season with 1,710 yards.

Nichols is the sixth Central Michigan player to be named the MAC Offensive Player of the Year and the first since quarterback Dan LeFevour in 2009.

Pimpleton led the MAC in average return yards per punt with 20.25. He returned two punts for touchdowns this season, both in a 42-30 rivalry win over Western Michigan.

Several other Chippewas were named to All-MAC Teams as well. The full list of Chippewas who received All-MAC honors is listed below:

All-MAC First Team:

  • OL Bernhard Raimann
  • OL Luke Goedeke
  • WR Kalil Pimpleton
  • RB Lew Nichols
  • DL Troy Hairston
  • LB Troy Brown
  • PR Kalil Pimpleton

All-MAC Second Team:

  • DB Devonni Reed

All-MAC Third Team:

  • WR Dallas Dixon
  • WR JaCorey Sullivan
  • KR Marion Lukes