Harbaugh, Tucker Named Finalists for Coach of the Year

Michigan head football coach Jim Harbaugh and Michigan State head football coach Mel Tucker are two of the 13 finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year in Div. 1 college football.

Harbaugh led Michigan to its first Big Ten Championship victory and a trip to the College Football Playoff. Michigan last won a Big Ten title in 2004 before there was a championship game.  The Wolverines will face No. 3 Georgia in the semifinal on Dec. 31 at 7:30 p.m. in the Orange Bowl.

Tucker received the Big Ten Coach of the Year after leading Michigan State to a 10-2 record in his second year with the Spartans. He will coach in his first bowl game with the Spartans, as they will face Pittsburgh in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on Dec. 30 at 7 p.m.

The winner of the award will be announced on Monday, Dec. 20, with an official presentation on Jan. 8.

Here’s a full list of the finalists:

Jim Harbaugh (Michigan)

Mel Tucker (Michigan State)

Blake Anderson (Utah State)

Dave Aranda (Baylor)

Luke Fickell (Cincinnati)

Thomas Hammock (Northern Illinois)

Billy Napier (Louisiana)

Pat Narduzzi (Pitt)

Nick Saban (Alabama)

Kalani Sitake (BYU)

Kirby Smart (Georgia)

Jeff Traylor (UTSA)

Kyle Whittingham (Utah)