Michigan’s Hutchinson Named Finalist for Heisman Trophy

Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson is one of four finalists for the Heisman Trophy, joining three quarterbacks of Pittsburgh’s Kenny Pickett, Ohio State’s C.J. Stroud and Alabama’s Bryce Young.

Hutchinson becomes the sixth Wolverine to be a finalist, with the last one coming in 2016 with Jabrill Peppers. He was the Defensive Player of the Year in the Big 10 after breaking Michigan’s single-season sack record with 14, including three against the Wolverines’ rival Ohio State. He is second in the nation in sacks, with Alabama’s Will Anderson sitting at 15.5 sacks.

Michigan State running back Kenneth Walker III was expected to be in the running for the Heisman Trophy, but he wasn’t named a finalist after rushing for 1,636 yards and 18 touchdowns this season. He added 89 yards and a touchdown through the air as well. He ranks second in the nation in rushing yards behind Central Michigan’s Lew Nichols. Walker is sixth nationally in rushing touchdowns.

The Heisman Trophy will be awarded on Saturday, Dec. 11, at 8 p.m. More information on the finalists can be found on the Heisman website.