Ferris State’s Annese Wins NCAA D-II Football Coach of the Year

BIG RAPIDS – Ferris State football head coach Tony Annese was named the 2021 NCAA Division II Football Coach of the Year after leading the Bulldogs to the program’s first ever national championship this season.

After Annese was hired to lead the program 10 years ago, he led the Ferris State football team in a historic year to finish as the No. 1 team in the country in Div. II, an undefeated 14-0 season and his first ever national title.

Ferris State football dominated its way to a 58-17 win over No. 2 Valdosta State in the 2021 NCAA Division II National Championship at McKinney ISD Stadium in Texas to capture the program’s first ever national title on Dec. 19.

The Bulldogs’ 55-7 win over Shepherd in the national semifinal was Tony Annese’s 100th victory as head coach.

The Bulldogs have made five-straight trips to the national quarterfinals, four of which have led to the semifinals and two to the national championship game.

The last was in 2018, when the Bulldogs fell to Valdosta State 49-47. But, the team prevailed this time around in the rematch of the Div. II powerhouses.

Categories: Football